New Website Banner 2.7.14 v4

Welcome to Indianapolis EMS


Indianapolis Emergency Medical Services (EMS) is the largest provider of emergency pre-hospital medical care in Indianapolis, responding to nearly 100,000 911 calls each year. A division of the Indianapolis Department of Public Safety, Indianapolis EMS is a partnership between the City of Indianapolis, Indiana University School of Medicine and Health and Hospital Corporation of Marion County, with Eskenazi Health as the supervising health system. Indianapolis EMS strives to provide the best pre-hospital medical services to the community through the endless pursuit of excellence in patient-centered care, education, efficiency, efficacy, safety and quality of service. Indianapolis EMS serves the community not only through emergency care, but also through unique outreach programs and educational opportunities.



Our Mission: 


Right care. Every patient. Every time.


Our Vision:


To be a health care leader in:


1. The efficient delivery of high-quality patient care and science.
2. The professional development and engagement of our providers.


Our Values:


Compassion - Showing empathy towards those who are suffering by displaying understanding and offering comfort.


Excellence - Striving for the best pre-hospital health care with constant evaluation and improvement of our model and day to day operations.


Integrity - Upholding the highest demonstrations of character towards patients and fellow service members.


Unity - Fostering a positive relationship within our EMS family, supporting one another and holding fast to our common goal of serving our community.


Follow Indianapolis EMS on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



The Latest


Jason and Lundy - edit


Indianapolis EMS Member Earns National Advocacy Award

NAEMT recognizes IEMS educator for support of Field EMS Bill


Indianapolis EMS’ Lt. Jason Scheiderer was recently honored with the EMS Field Bill Advocate of the Year Award from the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT). Lt. Scheiderer was one of three awardees from across the nation to be recognized for their volunteer work in support of this legislation. He received his award at NAEMT’s EMS on the Hill Day in Washington, D.C., in March.


H.R. 809, the Field EMS Quality, Innovation and Cost-Effectiveness Improvement Act (a.k.a. the Field EMS Bill), would provide federal support for EMS practitioners, similar to federal support offered to fire and police, as well as make improvements to the EMS industry and practices.


As an advocate for the Field EMS Bill, Lt. Scheiderer secured sponsors for the bill, Indiana Reps. Larry Bucshon and Andre Carson, and gained support from the Indiana EMS Association and the Putnam County Operation Life Agency.


Lt. Scheiderer is an educator in the Indianapolis EMS Education Division and has been in EMS for 12 years.